Applications are now being accepted for the 2021 NAHJ Ñ Awards! This year, the Ñ Awards will be presented during the Noche de Triunfos event in the fall.*


Ñ Awards     Neuharth, Rivera Ñ Awards

If you are not yet an NAHJ member, you will need to become one before applying.

NAHJ will present six awards within the Print/Digital, Television, Photography and Radio categories. 

General Award Categories:
Latino Issues – Print/Digital Journalism 
Latino Issues – Radio/Online Audio Journalism
Latino Issues – TV/Online Video Journalism
Latino Issues – Photography
Latino Issues – Student Print/Online Journalism
Latino Issues – Student Broadcast Journalism

Al Neuharth Award for Investigative Journalism recognizes groundbreaking work by a journalist or a team that uses investigative journalism in the role of being a community’s watchdog. 
NAHJ Elaine Rivera Civil Rights & Social Justice Award recognizes excellence in coverage of civil rights of Latino Americans and/or issues of social justice for Latinos. Elaine Rivera was a former NAHJ board member and working journalist with a commitment to social justice.

All judges are journalism professionals in the medium being judged. Entries are evaluated by standards of excellence in journalism. 

  • Entries are judged based on the quality of work submitted
  • Judges are professional journalists and change annually
  • Winners are individuals, not news organizations
  • Winners must be a member of NAHJ
  • Winners will be notified prior to the event and need not be present to win

*Details will be forthcoming on a date and format for the awards presentation.

2021 Final Entry Guidelines 

  1. Those submitting an entry must be a member of NAHJ. Register or login here.
  2. Submissions will be accepted in English and Spanish.
  3. Entries must be published by a media organization in a print, online or broadcast
    outlet between January 31, 2020 and January 31, 2021.
  4. Award subjects should focus on Latino issues.
  5. If the work is part of a series, up to three items from that series may be submitted together. The total length for a video or audio piece cannot exceed 10 minutes.
  6. Each award category will have one award winner. If several members are involved in the production of the submitted piece and want to be considered for an award, they must submit a separate entry.
  7. Print entries must be no longer than three parts, including sidebars. The byline, date, name of the publication and page number must be on the article.
  8. Broadcast and online work must be submitted as a link to a live, public site. An entry may consist of one to three related URL’s, but all must be related to the same entry. All winning entries must remain live and viewable for a period of one year from the date of the announcement of the winner. Entrants are encouraged to upload their media via YouTube, Vimeo or to their station's website and provide the necessary link on the online application form.
  9. We do not have a long-form video category. Submitted materials must be 10 minutes long or less. If the original piece is longer, it must be edited down. 
  10. Students may submit student work produced for one of their school platforms in the student categories only. 
  11. Students submitting in other categories must submit work created for a professional site.
  12. Entries must be journalism, dramatizations will not be considered.
  13. Entries without payment will be considered ineligible.

To submit your award entry, you will need the following information

  • Title of Entry
  • Publication Name or Station/Network Where Entry was Published Aired
  • Publish/Air Date
  • Brief description of entry (50 words or less)
  • Brief description of entry’s role in the production of the submitted content 

View Frequently asked Questions

If you have additional questions, please email Leslie-Anne Frank, Director of Next Gen. Initiatives, at [email protected].

Best of luck!

NAHJ Member Services
#NAHJNextGen |